penryn and the end of days trilogy

Penryn & The End of Days // Review of this Brutal World of Angels and Death

(This is a review I tried doing a while back on a previous blog that is now non-existent. I’m working on getting better!)

Author: Susan Ee

Publisher: Skyscape

Genre: young adult // supernatural > angels // dystopia

Angelfall synopsis for your curious minds. The next book’s are World After and End of Days.


I picked this up one day from my library because it sounded different from previous angel stories I’ve experienced, so I gave it a shot. I actually quite enjoyed it. Though, I can be a bit biased because I love unexpected brutality. If you read it, you’ll see what I mean. I like when authors throw readers for a loop and don’t hold back. So here are my thoughts on this series:

The plot. So the few angel related books I’ve read before were ok…a little boring. And basically the same idea. Usually, the main girl encounters an angel who was sent because maybe she or someone close to her is going to die soon. Lo and behold, however, she can see them! And talk to them! Well this series took a different take on angels. Much different. And I give much praise to the author for her creativity and story. Also, this was a whole lot more brutal than I was expecting….and I loved it. I tend to like those exciting, suspenseful, cruel stories more than pure sap. So if you can’t stomach lovely descriptions of savagery, maybe this isn’t for you. The first book starts off a little slow,  but once it picks up, it picks up.

Might I also mention, I appreciate it when the author fits in there a place to show how a name is pronounced. *applause* Truly thankful. I hate when I don’t know how….

Now, I know I’m not a big, serious critic, this is all just my opinion, so don’t go jumping in thinking this will be the best angel story you have ever read, but I give this story a 10/10 in my book. I love non-cliché stories, plots that I’ve never encountered before, so sometimes I can be a bit biased.

Let’s continue on to the characters. I really liked the characters. Penryn is a tough girl who will not rest until her sister is safe and people she cares for have a chance. There weren’t any times I didn’t like her; I was fighting with her and wanting her enemies gone just as much as her. I love Raffe. He’s not the dark, broody cliché. He’s not the too chipper, optimistic sap cliché. He’s a fresh guy that you grow to love. The other characters were done very well and had good development. I also like that the romance was not overdone and did not overpower the plotline like many other books I’ve read tend to do.

I did think the romance was too fast to loving each other (much like most YA novels), but I’m glad it was still developed a bit more while not overriding the story.

So overall, I enjoyed this. Sometimes the writing or character development wasn’t perfect, so that’s why I gave this rating. But I recommend this for readers looking for:

  • a unique angel story
  • blood & brutality
  • a dark, crazy world full of action
  • and bits of humor thrown in there (I think as comedic relief, but I liked them – Pooky Bear, hah!)

 

My rating from 5 dragon scales:

my rating of 4/5
4/5

 

 

 

 

Thanks for reading!


Did you read this series? What did you think of it? Comment below! (Careful of spoilers, though)

*P.S. There is a rant companion to this for those who have read it and want to rant with me. The password is: penrynXraffe*

~Photo acquired from Google~

One thought on “Penryn & The End of Days // Review of this Brutal World of Angels and Death”

Leave a Reply

