MAY 2016 RECAP // Life and Books

Well, look at these blocks of text. *sighs*

It is the end of the month. And my first wrap-up for said month! I thought I’d use these posts to give any life updates throughout the month along with a summary of my bookish escapades. Until school starts back up again, though, my life isn’t all that exciting…it’s been made of books, mostly…

It’s barely been a month since I started this blog. So far, I’m enjoying this! It’s been helping me in some unseen ways from my readers’ position. For some reason, ever since I took my study abroad trip to Japan last year, some barrier or something crumbled and I slipped into a slump that I can’t figure out how to get out of. I’m pretty sure it’s an accumulation of a bunch of things that happened in Japan as well as me figuring myself and my life out.

However, deciding to start book blogging and trying to reach out to like-minded people has caused some unseen force to start slowly pushing me out of it. I just feel more motivation building, getting me out of the house more and such. So we’ll see what happens!

But real life stuff is boring sometimes.

So, relating more to the bookish topics, I just wanted to let you know that I’m working on improving this blog, thus, sorry if it is boring or anything. I’m always open to constructive criticism and discussion! I am also working on accumulating more ideas as we speak. I’ve seen some awesome discussion and post ideas from other book bloggers that I will try for myself in the future with my own spin on them. And I’m trying to come up with some unique ones, but I am more creative in other areas sometimes…heh. But thanks to all who read my content – I hope you enjoy it!

I am still trying to discover myself a little bit, too, when it comes to writing and expressing myself through a blog. I am socially awkward. Really. So I may seem stiff and boring sometimes, but bear with me! *laughs nervously*

Finally, I just thought I’d use this post to briefly go over what I’ve read this month, what I liked, what I may have liked less, etc. Keep things organized! You can click the images to see Goodreads details and some have links to a review in the caption. Also note that some of these are not the first in the series. So be carefully when clicking through not to spoil!

~~~

What I loved:

kings rising cover
(I did a review for the whole trilogy)
the lightning struck heart cover
(a review is coming soon)
marked in flesh cover
(included in a recent review)

~~~

What I liked:

bear otter and the kid cover
(a review is coming soon)
half lost cover
(included in my first review)
shattered glass
(a MINI review is coming soon)
six of crows by leigh bardugo
(I did a review recently)

tournament of losers cover

~~~

Disappointments:

empire of night cover
(I’m waiting until I finish the series before any reviewing)

~~~

So there you have it! I hate when I come across disappointments, but that doesn’t mean they are bad books! Remember that. They are disappointing for various reasons, and to varying degrees. These reviews and thoughts are of my opinion, so if you want to try these books, do it! Look at me, talking like my list is ginormous and I have tons of disappointments… So if you want to try that book, do it!

It just shows how people’s interests grow and change, how everyone likes what they like.

On another note, I don’t really have much of a TBR list… I mean, I have a huge list on Goodreads, but nothing specifically for June. I’m more of a mood-reader, kind of gal. So I will probably continue with The Raven Cycle and Red Rising trilogy. I’ve got gay novels galore I could read. So not much to report on there.

Thanks for reading!


Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them? (Careful of spoilers, though)

If you want to know more about what I thought of a book (that isn’t linked to a review), go ahead and ask!

3 thoughts on “MAY 2016 RECAP // Life and Books”

Leave a Reply

