Goodreads Reading Challenge Update

I am most definitely a member of Goodreads, since only recently, and I am upset with myself for never joining earlier! That place is super helpful with keeping track of the books you read and want to read, discovering new books to read, and how you feel about all those books. And the community! I’m still new, so I haven’t really met many people, but from what I can see, you can find a ton of people who have similar interests (especially in books) and opinions (especially about books). Just…Aralyn…come on. Shame on you, for waiting so long.

Another nifty part of that place is the annual reading challenge! Never knew it existed until I was looking at book blogs last month. So now I am working on my goal of 80 books this year! It started as 150…then I realized I had a late start, probably couldn’t manage that, especially with senior year of college starting this August… So I brought it down to 100! And then I still thought about college and how it’ll be different this time because hello, capstone…now it’s 80. Let’s see if I can manage that. Thus, we are now to the reason for this post: since I started book blogging late this year, there are some books I’ve read that I haven’t discussed and probably won’t discuss all of them on here. So I wanted to bring an update of my progress as of today, and share the books I loved and the ones that were a little disappointing…

As of today: 36/80! It says I’m 3 books ahead of schedule!

ezgif.com-resize

Though, I still fear for no time in school, so I may have to lower it, yet again. Can’t be helped! And this list will not look like 36 books, but the reason for that is because I just wanted to focus on those two ends of the opinion spectrum: loved and disappointing. The rest I liked sit in between there. You can see the full list on my profile’s reading challenge.

Now, I’m not including cover images with this list because that is just too much work…sorry. It’s only an update after all. I will, however, include links to the books and if it is a series, I will only include the one for the 1st book. Also, they will all be YA novels unless stated at the beginning.

~~~

What I loved:

(M/M) Captive Prince, Prince’s Gambit, and Kings Rising by C.S. Pacat (my review here)

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (included in a MINI review)

(M/MThe Lightning-Struck Heart by Tj Klune (damn hilarious)

(ADULT) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (but I could be slightly biased because I like finding books that make me cry)

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder (Valek <3)

(ADULT) Written in Red, Murder of Crows, Vision in Silver, and Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop (my review here)

~~~

Disappointments:

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

(M/M) Counterpoint by Rachel Haimowitz (disappointed with character/relational development, but liked the world)

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (included in a MINI review)

Eon by Alison Goodman (DNF)

(M/M) The Gravedigger’s Brawl by Abigail Roux

(M/MKing’s Conquest by Valentina Heart (insta-love, too fast, cool idea)

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (DNF)

Sea of Shadows and Empire of Night by Kelley Armstrong (still good, something about the pacing, maybe? Too little action?)

Soundless by Richelle Mead

Splintered by A.G. Howard (probably won’t read anymore of the series)

~~~

Once again, remember that my disappointments do not mean they are bad books. Even on the individual spectrums of love and disappointment, I have some books above others, liked some more than others. Even my ratings for some seem like they shouldn’t be placed there, but usually you have other expectations that make it a disappointment.

Read any book that sounds interesting to you!

As for the ones I loved, I will recommend them to all! Well, those that like what genres they may be, heh.

Thanks for reading!


Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them? (Careful of spoilers, though)

If you want to know more about what I thought of a book (that isn’t linked to a review), go ahead and ask!

3 thoughts on “Goodreads Reading Challenge Update”

  1. Yayyy for Goodreads challenges! THEY’RE MY FAVOURITE. I’m doing my 3rd one (although I wish I’d found GR earlier too. XD) and omg I love the community and how easy it is to find friends to chat about books with. SO MUCH FUN.

    Also I agree that A Thousand Nights was disappointing and also Sea of Shadows. Ugh. I had such high expectations for that but NOPE. And Soundless was borderline offensive, I thought. Just with the handling of disabilities. 0_0 SO YEAH. I’m with you there. XD AND AYYYYYY I LOVE CARRY ON!! I’M SO GLAD YOU DID TOO. 😀

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, better late then never for both of us 😉 I’m still discovering features of GR and people *thumbs up*
      I just felt ATN was….slow and lacked depth to draw me to the story characters… Just kind of thrown together.
      And I also expected a little more for Sea of Shadows. I love Armstrong’s Darkest Powers trilogy, but this series just lacks in…something. It’s slow and not as much intensity/action for my liking.
      I thought Soundless sounded like a cool concept, but it was executed very poorly (v_v;)

      Simon x Baz all the way! ❤

      Of course! And thank YOU for stopping by here!

      Like

Leave a Reply

