The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) // Magic and Adventure Waiting to be Discovered

the raven boys coverAuthor: Maggie Stiefvater

Published: September 18, 2012 by Scholastic Press

Pages: 409

Genres: young adult // mystery // supernatural


Hey there, worms (of books)!

Okay. I’m late to the party, I know! I am just now reading The Raven Cycle, but sometimes with books I think I will enjoy, I like to wait until all books are available…bookworms are impatient worms. Though, I have a secret… I did read this book a few years ago… BUT I forgot, literally, everything that had happened aside from names of MCs, so it was like reading new all over again and I have plans for books I choose to re-read later, but for now! I just wanted to pretend I hadn’t read it in preparation for the finale. And I can’t wait to continue!

Read this if you like:

  • awesome characters with distinct personalities and a penchant for mischief & adventure
  • mystery & suspense
  • MAGIC (or at least the hint of a lot in this book)
  • sleeping, centuries-old kings
  • camaros
  • ravens

Synopsis:

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

=====

Ugh, Stiefvater has such a way with words. She writes like there is magic in everything. She hints at or mentions things in subtle ways so that sometimes I get chills. And she used those magnificent skills to set up Blue and the boys’ world and quest to find the king in a fantastic way. When things are intense, you feel it. You see it. This book is the 1st of 4, so this one, in my opinion, seems more toward the setting development and introduction, so there’s actually not that many events going down in here. It’s very character driven and I love it. Everything starts off slowly, but just wait!

And Stiefvater isn’t about those subtle cliffhangers, oh no. I laughed because that last sentence was so abrupt, but it made me want to read the next book to find out why in the world he would say that! XD

Pacing: medium ~ some may consider it slow, but we still must remember that there are 4, almost 5, full characters to develop. No wonder it’s a series, guys. And this one focuses more on just introducing us to the journey and characters.

=====

yes to all gifAnd the raven boys! Blue and her boys – I really want to see how their relationships develop. Especially after the events at the end of this book! All of the characters are strong in their own ways, I found I couldn’t truly dislike any of them, even with there being this many people.

Blue. Blue is wonderful. She’s intelligent, strong in a soft way, and whimsical. Understand that you can be logical and quirky at the same time! Those are the best people and Blue is that people. And you can be strong in a soft way! It just means you keep the strength more on the inside and have strength for those around you. I love her eccentricities! The way Stiefvater describes her clothes and her room, gah. And snark. Gotta love snark and sass. She just wants to be less sensible and more unpredictable. And then she meets her Aglionby raven boys.

“She wasn’t interested in telling other people’s futures. She was interested in going out and finding her own.”

Gansey. My sweet. He is such a caring mother in this group of ravens. It is mentioned several times from his POV that he would be nothing, this group would be nothing, missing anyone that is a part of it. He and I share the love of everything magical. I may not be able to go on grand adventures like him, but, oh, we share it. And he’s dense, hah. He doesn’t realize when he can be offensive sometimes and at those times I want to just chuckle and hug him. But he has a strong presence and a huge vocabulary (*ahem* word-hoarder).

“He strode over to the ruined church. This, Blue had discovered, was how Gansey got places – striding. Walking was for ordinary people.”

Ronan. Ugh, I love the dark, mysterious fellas. What can I say? And he has a huge heart underneath his glares and striking tattoos. Little Chainsaw! You can tell he’d fight for his friends any day. And after that cliffhanger, I have a feeling we’ll learn so much more about him in The Dream Thieves! I want to know so much more about him.

“Ronan didn’t need physics. He could intimidate even a piece of plywood into doing what he wanted.”

Adam. I want to put him in a bubble and keep him safe. He’s had plenty of downs in his life. He’s strong in that he wants to have full control over himself, not let anyone make choices for him. He wants to make something of himself. Now, I admit sometimes I wanted to also smack him for his treatment of Gansey. His mind is stuck in a negative place. But I want him to be happy…

Noah. *sighs* Oh, my dear Noah… He’s shy and small and adorable. ❤

Who can’t love Blue’s zany aunts and women of her house? Such striking personalities – I loved it.

This is a tale of adventure and life, finding yourself, seeking the magic in the world. It is full of sass, magic, heart-break, discovery, friendship. Will someone come with me to look for a magically sleeping king? Or another magical adventure? I crave.

My rating:

my rating of 4/5
4/5

~

~

~

~

Thanks for reading. Ta-ta for now!


Did you read this book? What did you think of the boys’ relationship? Anything else? Comment below! (Careful of spoilers, though)

~Cover photo from Goodreads~

7 thoughts on “The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) // Magic and Adventure Waiting to be Discovered”

  1. I’m really behind with this series too. I only read this book a few weeks ago, and whilst I didn’t love it quite as much as I had hoped, I did really enjoy it. I felt the plot was quite slow, but I loved the characters so much I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the series at some point. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! In my mind, the first book is the least exciting, but it does have a big plot to plan and many characters to focus on, so at least it was slow for a purpose. I just hope it picks up speed after that! The raven boys are amazing! ❤

      Like

  2. I haven’t told but like one other person this since people love this series so much, but I started the first book like 3 years ago… And never finished it! I know! It’s terrible… 😉 I think maybe I was just in the wrong mood for it. It felt so slow and I just couldn’t. But I really want to try it again! So thanks for posting this review and reminding me 🙂 I have hope I’ll like it this time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So I’m not alone! The time I decided to start the series, the 2nd book was out, too, so I read them both, but….then realized there are more books coming, so I wouldn’t be able to finish it for another couple years 😐 Thus, I finished them and forgot everything! To have only the 1st book available, it was pretty slow setting things up, so I totally understand. I hope we both make it through this time and love the journey!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely not alone! And this makes me feel way better 😉 I’ll have to start over too. All I remember are a couple names and a cemetery. I hope o enjoy the journey too! And I hope for both of our sakes the next books are readily available and a little quicker pace 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

