Me Before You // This is Why I Don’t Read Much Contemporary Stuff!

me before you coverAuthor: Jojo Moyes

Published: December 31st 2012 by Pamela Dorman Books/Viking

Pages: 481

Genre: adult // romance // contemporary


I am not a romantic person. Not even close. I don’t try looking for mushy-gushy love stories. I was really hoping this wouldn’t end up that way once I decided to read it. However, the reason I did decide to try this out is because I had never read a book with a physically disabled main character, so I was curious about the representation and how this would play out. I don’t know if that seems harsh in any way (please don’t take it that way), but it’s much like people reading LGBT books to see how they may be represented, right? Plus, the blurb hinted at secrets and I like secrets.

So I was wary, but I found a pleasant surprise! And I just happened to read it the same year a movie released! Hadn’t even known until after I finished the book. (DAENERYS IS LOU.)

Synopsis:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

=====

Now, for someone like me, who enjoys adventures, dragons, magic, violence, action, all those intense shenanigans, I admit that some parts were slow for me. But I’m biased. It’s OK, though, I have some speed-reading capabilities, so I didn’t actually skim. It’s romance, whatayagonnado? Anyway, no matter the slower parts, it was all very well written. Moyes can write very beautifully for parts that need some beauty.

Lou Clark is an eccentric young woman. Some people find her annoying and I can see why. As I read, I was waiting for some big reason as to why she never leaves town on adventures or some such…but that reason was anti-climactic to me… I just thought it wasn’t a good enough reason, but *shrugs* some people handle things differently. I love that she dresses how she wants and has a fun, care-free personality (of course, not too care-free). So I can see that many individuals saw her as lazy, but at least wonderful Will helped her broaden her horizons by the end!

“My favourite outfit was those glitter boots and my bumblebee tights.”
“Bumblebee tights?”
“Black and yellow stripes.”
“Gorgeous.”
“That’s a bit harsh.”
“Well, it’s true. They sound revolting.”

And Will Traynor really was wonderful ❤ I liked him. He has a great, balanced personality, full of humor, smiles, sadness, pain; everything. You watched as he opened up more and more once Lou’s personality (and her own snarky stubbornness) was laid upon him. And I felt so bad for him the days he was in pain. I just wanted to hold him. He’s a such a sweetheart, an intelligent man, a strong personality. I loved all his sass and banter with Lou. Agh, I just adored him. Can you tell I liked Will? No?

“You are scored on my heart, Clark. You were from the first day you walked in, with your ridiculous clothes and your complete inability to ever hide a single thing you felt.” -Will

As for secondary characters, for the small parts they were included, I was happy with them or wanted to smack them occasionally. Nathan is very kind and Lou’s family are very supportive. So accepting of Will. I loved the part where he visits them for Lou’s birthday 🙂 He shows her wonders of the world and she shows him the small bits of happiness in life.

A fun romantic journey! I thoroughly enjoyed all their escapades, even the failed attempts. I loved Lou and Will’s tender moments. They changed each other’s perspectives in some way. And I admit that I cried. Ever since being back from Japan, I seem more easily emotional….or maybe it’s due to reading contemporary books for, like, the first time ever in my life. Due to this fact, also, sorry if the review seems a bit short. I am not yet especially critical without action and epic stunts to flail about in reviews. Never was one for those analyses in writing classes *scuffs toes* Also been a while since I read it.

=====

Finally my thoughts on the ending…

So the ending is where things get a bit tricky. It could get a lower dragon scale score itself…when we think of what its message can portray, a message that some people may take from this book, specifically a message toward handicapped individuals. However, it also portrays something very real in the world about deciding what kind of life you want to live. I also like to think that most people are strong enough to handle it. I won’t spoil it here. I actually plan to discuss it with spoilers in a future post I want to try about endings kind of related to this. (I’m still building my writing style and this blog, so I don’t know when it will be released.) I still think people should try the book, see if they like it. I just understand it can be a tender subject. Feel free to secretly message me about the ending!

I will also add: after finishing this book, I can say, definitely, I will never be interested in reading the second book. I think it would ruin this book’s journey for me.

“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.” -Will

My rating:

my rating of 4/5
4/5

~

~

~

~

Thanks for reading. Ta-ta for now, worms (of books)!


Did you read this book? What did you think of their relationship? The journey? Comment below! (Careful of spoilers, though)

~Photo from Goodreads~

4 thoughts on “Me Before You // This is Why I Don’t Read Much Contemporary Stuff!”

  1. I read this a while back, even though isn’t really my type of thing either (generally I’m all about the dragons and magic too!), and really enjoyed it. That was mainly because I liked the main characters so much, especially Will, and I really liked his relationship with Lou. I felt the same about the end though – the message it sends out isn’t the best, although I guess it makes quite an emotional impact. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. (Aw, yeah! Dragons and magic <3)
      It was an emotional impact! It was beautifully written! I'd rather that kind of end to be written beautifully.
      The characters truly made this book 🙂

      Like

  2. I completely agree with you about not wanting to read the second book. The struggle, journey, and the relationships with Will are what made this book so great. Will made this book for me. I can’t picture reading about Lou’s life without him in it. I didn’t care for Lou much on her own.

    -Jenn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! He truly did make the book. Lou was a don’t-hate-but-don’t-love kind of character to me. And I hear she changes her personality negatively in the second book. So, no thanks!
      Thanks for stopping by 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

