June 2016 RECAP // A couple events and book progress!

Another month of reading! And I read some fantastic books 🙂

Life is not going to be especially productive for me until school starts up again… But a couple things happened. I got my campus housing contract the other day, but I realize how expensive it is to live on campus… I mean, it’s not bad, but over $700 with roommates…? I could get a better single place for that, I’m sure. So I’m looking into other places off campus, but I also really need a car to do that… But a friend also says I can stay with her and her hubby until my own place so I can focus on a car first. Ugh, life.

depressed cat gif
Life, sometimes.

The big, best event, though, was my mum’s wedding! Her dream has finally happened! She’s had fellas in her past (me and my twin have one dad, our brothers have another), but was never married. Finally found the right guy :3 She’s only 38 (my sis & I were high school babies) and her original goal was before 30, but I think this is a great age to get married for the first time. My sis & I were the maids of honor – and we were honored 😉 Really.

But aside from life, I also made progress in my bookish endeavors. I read a total of 9 books this month (does not include a few that I don’t consider novels which would make it 14). I’ll list them into what I loved, disappointments, and everything in between.

~~~~~

What I loved:

golden son by pierce brown

GOODREADS

The action and political battles in this were fantastic! I love Darrow and how he grows. And that CLIFFHANGER. Ugh. Lots of stuff happens in here and I can’t wait for the next one. I do wish there was a bit more in the character development department, but that’s it. I have a review for it, too!

the raven boys cover

GOODREADS

So I did find this first installment to be slow, but I also realized that there were a lot of people needing some development and a plot to be set up. Thus, as a character-driven, plot-setup-beginner: awesome. I can’t wait to see where this mystery leads. I have a review talking more about it.


Disappointments:

change of heart by mary calmes

GOODREADS

(M/M NOVEL) Okay, even the cover was a turn off for me… I’ve been having that problem with a lot of M/M novels lately. YA books do it so much better. Anyway, I like shifters and these were were-panthers so I was like hell yeah! But it was insta-love, they had sex seemingly 5 times within 2 nights, I couldn’t feel the chemistry… Just no. But the concept itself was pretty good.

TSOA

GOODREADS

Don’t hate me, but this really was a let-down for me. Maybe because I like a faster pace? Now, I loved Patroclus and Achilles. Their development in the 2nd half was fantastic. And the ending was so bittersweet and made the whole book. It was just everything before that was disappointing… I have a review talking more about it.


And everything in between!:

aaron by jp barnaby

GOODREADS

(M/M NOVEL) I went in search of m/m romance with physically disabled characters and found this one! I think it was done well, but not especially well. It wasn’t a disappointment, but it wasn’t something I could love, either. But it was really sweet!

armed & dangerous cover

GOODREADS

(M/M NOVEL) This one is the 5th in a series that I’ve been reading before this blog. Wasn’t as exciting, but the quartet that is Ty x Zane and Julian x Cameron was hilarious. This series is slow-going for me because there are 9 BOOKS. But I really like Ty and Zane.

beneath the stain cover

GOODREADS

(M/M NOVEL) This one full of drama, but a nice romance. I can’t handle drama-filled angsty contemporary that well, but I still enjoyed this. Mostly for the awesome characters. I have a review talking more about it.

brute cover

GOODREADS

(M/M NOVEL) This was just a really cute light read. I liked that the characters had their own handicaps, but manage, and find love unexpectedly. Pretty short, so things can be a bit rushed, but I liked it. (Part of  MINI review #2)

the dream thieves cover

GOODREADS

This second installment has the same pacing as The Raven Boys. Still such a sense of magical mystery here and the characters are wonderful. This one focuses more on Ronan’s development – I like him even more now :3 I’m still kind of waiting for a bit more intensity (don’t get me wrong, I adore having fantastic character development). With that ending, I think things will pick up in Blue Lily, Lily Blue! This is really close to the loving spectrum end! A review will come for this eventually (I literally finished it right before posting this).

~~~~~

Once again, be sure to still check out those disappointments to see if you could really enjoy them! Feel free to share how much you love them and start discussions! These are just my personal opinions due to my bookish preferences (^_^)

That’s about it for this month. Until next time – ta-ta for now!


Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them? (Careful of spoilers, though)

If you want to know more about what I thought of a book (that isn’t linked to a review), go ahead and ask!

10 thoughts on “June 2016 RECAP // A couple events and book progress!”

  1. I still really need to carry on with the Raven Boys series, so I’ll have to try and get a copy of The Dream Thieves soon. I thought Ronan was one of the most intriguing characters in The Raven Boys so I’d really like to find out more about him. I’m glad you enjoyed the book 🙂
    I just got The Song of Achilles out of the library the other day, so I’m going to give it a go. Hopefully I don’t find it disappointing!

    Like

    1. Sometimes it can be difficult to carry on with a slow moving series if you’re in the mood for action and intensity. But I truly do love the characters. And I was glad to get to know Ronan better, too!

      Be sure to let me know what you think of it! Also a pretty character-driven story.

      Like

    1. It’s not for everyone. I can see it being due to writing style, character development, some just don’t like this kind of sci-fi, etc. And that’s totally fine! Did any of them pique your interest at all? (Not sure if you read any M/M…but the YA ones?)

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I understand. I read tons of YA, but some things irritate me, too *nods* I checked out your June wrap-up and it seems your tastes go in a much different direction than me! Looks like some scary stuff (o.o) But to each their own! I should try some books like those; see how I like them.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Well, Beneath Claire’s House is an excellent YA horror. No excessive blood, guts, gore, cursing, sex, etc. It’s a “clean horror” that is mostly psychological. Its a great starter. It’s an indie. For one you could find on your library shelves, try Bird Box by Josh Malerman. It’s tension filled, but not gross or gory.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

