My Bookish History Tag

So, I was thinkin’… We all started somewhere on our journey of metamorphosing into a bookworm, right?? I kind of remember where my journey started, where it reached a peak of no return. Childhood favorites, middle school favorites, high school hypes, etc. Some people, like me, can’t remember too much because they started so young. Others started more recently.

But I love hearing others’ childhood book treasures and what books really set them on the reading path! It’s a fun discussion to compare, see if we liked the same stories. So I looked online and couldn’t find a tag like this, so I decided to create one (^_^)

i'm going on an adventure gif

This tag doesn’t have a true specific set of rules except discussion! I have some questions to help set it off, but you can talk about whatever you want for your bookish history. 


RULES:

  1. Link back to whoever tagged you.
  2. Discuss based on these questions or create your own to help you out! (I’m not the best at creating questions…)

  • Do you have any childhood favorites? I’m thinking along the lines of those chapter books in elementary school.

junie b. jonesIn elementary school (kindergarten & 1st-5th) I loved the Junie B. Jones books by Barbara Park. I would go to my school’s library for those books all the time. I thought that Junie B. Jones’ escapades were the funniest things. And she was so sassy! Even back then I loved a sassy character. Another series that I loved (not as much as Junie B. Jones) was Hank the Cow Dog. Have any of you ever heard of it? Hank is the ornery one while his friend, whose name I can’t remember now, wasn’t the brightest… So he was usually the cause of problems and Hank had to fix all of them – I thought it was funny. Those are the two big ones I remember from elementary school. I tried the Magic Treehouse books, but it wasn’t for me (which is weird because now I love that kind of genre, hah). And does anyone remember Captain Underpants??

Then, in middle school, I discovered A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket! Those books were so much fun! Sometimes creepy, sometimes funny, always an adventure. I never did read all of them – I don’t even remember how far I got! But I liked the ones I did read. (The movie kinda sucked.)

~~~~~

  • Is there a book/series that really got your reading hobby snowballing?

warriors: into the wildThe trials of the bookworm life are consuming marvelous. And, generally, everyone starts at different times in there life due to different books (unless you are part of an assimilated robot army infiltrating the bookish ranks and started reading at the same time). Personally, I read books when I was young, but I think what really made me start loving books is the Warriors series by Erin Hunter. I read them in middle school after a friend recommendation. All the characters are cats! But don’t let that deter you – these books have some dark, deep themes. Seriously, it has clan wars, betrayal, spies, death, forbidden love, etc. But with cats. It’s middle-grade, but it’s damn good middle-grade. I loved their names, too: Fireheart, Graystripe, Tigerclaw, Yellowtail – real clan style! Forever has a place in my heart.

My manga love started then, too, when I found a little rack of backwards books and read Crescent Moon by Haruko Iida. People that turn into and utilize abilities of Japanese supernatural beings? Yes, please!

~~~~~

  • Are there any books you enjoyed, even though you had to read them for school?

lord of the fliesI feel I’m not inclined to reread these books again, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t like them then! However, at the time, unlike every other student, I found myself looking forward to seeing what happened (I even read ahead). The 3 big ones were A Separate Peace by John Knowles, Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck, and Lord of the Flies by William Golding. They had some deep, dark themes goin’ on. I guess I’ve always been drawn to those. Like I said, I probably wouldn’t return to them now – depressing and not quite my cup o’ tea. But I was the oddball that enjoyed them. Even with the sad occurrence in A Separate Peace or the ending in Of Mice and Men or the character that everyone liked in Lord of the Flies and he…*sighs* Yeah.

Then, in high school, I got to read The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien for English and I was 129% more excited! Highly unexpected! But fantasy, yo! Much more titillating, but still a bit sad, huh?

~~~~~

  • Was there a book that changed the genres you read? (i.e. were you an avid reader of contemporary, but now it’s all about those dragons?)

I don’t think I had this change… I was always drawn to the stranger books, the ones with powers or talking animals. I’ve only recently started reading a few contemporary, but I couldn’t ever start liking those more than fantasy and supernatural stuff. It’s more like genres were just added to what I like.

dragonlanceI remember my first non-YA fantasy novel that had DRAGONS was the Dragonlance Chronicles by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. I still don’t read many books along the same line, because I am lazy in searching for some good ones. I recommend if you’re looking for wizards, gods, dragons, elves, halflings, dwarves, etc. I don’t see those things in YA often. And come on, DRAGONS, folks (though not often). An hilarious wizard and escapades, too.

And M/M! I was introduced to the boys love scene through manga, originally. I came across a super cute story called Seven Days by Rihito Takarai. I was consumed from there! (I mention my first M/M novel below.)

~~~~~

  • Are there any other books/series that hold a special place in your heart?

city of bonesIn high school I fell in love with the Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. I think it was originally a trilogy? So I’ve only read #1-3. That was some of the best shit ever. Now I gotta catch up with the Shadowhunters’ world! And honestly, I think this was my first encounter with LGBT+ characters. *sighs happily* Oh, Malec ❤ These books showed me the creativity in young adult novels – the awesomeness.

 

the summoningI also have read The Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong about 3 times. It’s not some literary treasure, but it’s got a fun story and great characters (Derek is adorable). I thought Chloe was a great female MC, good side characters, a realistic approach at a werewolf transformation, and necromancy! I don’t come across necromancy much in books.

Fullmoon wo Sagashite (ENG: Searching for [the] Fullmoon) by Arina Tanemura was my first full manga and my first owned set and I will forever love that hilarious, yet dark, tale. (Also, when I had a phase where I wanted to make my own clothes, I adored some of the outfits in this. One of my favorites was the dress on the cover of vol. 7.) And another amazing manga series forever in my heart is Fruits Basket by Natsuki Takaya. It has such deep themes and complex characters with a dash of supernatural. Highly recommend even if you don’t read manga. Beautiful romance and plot.

watashitachi no shiawase na jikanAnother manga I adore is Watashitachi no Shiawase na Jikan by Ji-young Gong. I know that name doesn’t sound Japanese – that’s because the manga is based off the Korean novel. It means Our Happy Time/Hours in English. First reading material I ever cried for. It’s beautiful. Highly recommend even if you don’t read manga – only 8 chapters! I also really want to see the Korean movie (>_<) I read it back in 2012 and literally had to push my keyboard away due to tears dripping onto it…

And for any fellow M/M lovers, Bloodraven by P.L. Nunn was the first M/M novel I ever read. I read it back at the end of 2014. Though, Bloodraven will probably come across as a strange first for M/M, but what can I say? Curiosity 😉 I had experience with the yaoi, anyway. And then I found more and more and fell ever deeper into this genre *sighs contentedly*

~~~~~

  • What kind of bookworm are you now? You can mention anything. Can you easily read 100 books in 6 months? A slower reader? Are you a mood reader or do you set book goals? Do you hoard books? Do you have 79084 books on your TBR list?

Books are beautiful creations that should be cherished! I love the feel of them, I love when text or page edges are colored, I love the smell of them. I love the smell when I walk into libraries or bookstores. I’d rather buy books than clothes. I’ll just be here, with the books, whispering sweet nothings to them, while you go shop……

Compared to others I’ve seen, I read at a slower pace. I fear reading slumps (which I’m hitting one now after my non-stop devouring after a year away from English novels!) and I like doing other things, like gaming. Relating to that, I am definitely a mood reader. I don’t set goals. I may even stop in the middle of a series to break for a different read before returning. I can’t force myself to read something to accomplish a goal *shrugs*

I am a scrooge with money and buying for myself, so I wish I could afford to hoard books! I also don’t have my own place. I have no shelves. I have some books in boxes… The library is my friend! I do prefer the physical copies of books, though. Rather than ebooks. *inhales pages* I love the smell and feel of them! Recently, however, I’m slooooowly getting into audiobooks (I can be picky).

I can read just about anywhere. I can read in public, I can read in my loud family’s home, I can read in a silent room. The only place I can’t read is in moving masses of machinery. However, it comes at a risk because I am not a fan of being interrupted while I’m reading. (>_>) Don’t make me throw that chair at you. Kidding!(?) If it’s a slow part, I’m fine. Also, if it’s an emotional part and I want to see if I will cry, I have to wait until I’m home. My body will not be especially emotional around people. And I quite enjoy finding books that will make me cry because that’s not easy.

And I love meeting other book lovers. My best friend likes the same kinds of books as me. So we call/run to/jump at each other with book recommendations all the time. And enjoy flailing speaking in nonsensical manners about our love/hate for them (I may be exaggerating).

~~~~~

  • Do you have a shelfie for us?

Unfortunately, as stated above, currently I do not have a shelf. So this is more for others who are tagged if they want to show off their bookish collection!


So there you have it! Some information about me and my bookish self!

I’m still pretty new, so I don’t have a ton of bloggers I follow nor know especially well. This could help with that! I certainly hope this isn’t a repeat of a post you’ve already done, but I don’t see bookish history posts often. Maybe just a mention of childhood reads.

You can tag whoever you want or just leave it open to bloggers interested in doing it. I will go ahead and tag some lovely book bloggers below and maybe we can get this going! I hope I’m not imposing on anyone because I always worry about that because I’m socially awkward, but whatareyagonnado?

But even if I didn’t tag you, feel free to participate!

Jenna @ Fictional Neverland

Fernanda @ Mystery Date with a Book

Chloe @ (Over)Analysing Literature

Gretchen @ chicnerdreads

Jordan @ Fridays and Books

Shannon @ Clockwork Bibliophile

Ashleigh @ A frolic through fiction

Cait @ Paper Fury

Joey @ thoughts and afterthoughts

Laura @ Boats Against The Current

Ta-ta for now, worms!

16 thoughts on “My Bookish History Tag”

  1. This is a fun idea for a tag! I’ve been a major bookworm since I was about 11, so I don’t remember everything about my bookish history, but I do remember what some of my favorites were. I was definitely way more into contemporary and chick lit when I was a young teen, but now I’m all about fantasy and sci-fi 🙂

    I actually have Bloodraven on my TBR since I read M/M and love dark books, but it’s not on Amazon so I don’t have it :-/ I wonder if maybe you and I have some similar taste in books though? My first M/M was Incubus by Amanda Meuwissen which I read at the beginning of last year. It turned out to be one of my favorite series!

    I totally get you about not being especially emotional around people because I’m the same way. And it’s rare that a book will make me cry at all too. I almost never read in public since when I am out in public I’m busy running errands or whatever, not sitting somewhere that I can read, but if I did, I would definitely save potentially emotional scenes for when I’m alone too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I could never get much into contemporary and chick lit. I wanted to escape the real world and had no interest in realistic romance 😉
      That’s a bummer! Have you checked any other sites?
      Ooooh, maybe we do have similar tastes! Incubus sounds like something I might like! I’ll add it to my TBR 🙂
      Yeah, I still have time in public to read due to being in school. I’m sure I’ll eventually have to stick to home. Or just take audiobooks with me. Darn those emotional scenes, yet I love ’em!

      Ah, so good to hear that you enjoyed W+S!! I’m SO looking forward to it! I’m gonna read it as soon as I can! (>_<)

      Like

  2. What an absolutely wonderful idea for a tag! I am so excited to do this one, and so enjoyed reading your answers! I LOVED Junie B. Jones! My first grade teacher would read them aloud to us and she had the best voice for it. I remember wishing she’d do audiobooks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad! ❤
      Yay, another Junie B. Jones past fan! That's great that your teacher read them to you 🙂 I somehow discovered them by myself in my school's library.
      Oh, my goodness, I actually really like discovering unique voices. Some of my favorites are the gravelly kind. But, anyway, I understand wanting them to do audiobooks 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

