Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) // Pynch?? and Epic Cavern Adventures!

blue lily, lily blueAuthor: Maggie Stiefvater

Published: October 21st 2014 by Scholastic Press

Pages: 391

Genres: young adult // mystery // supernatural


THINGS HAPPENED. Shit got realer. Those first 2 books were definitely to set things up and events have taken place at a faster pace (heh, rhymed) in this one! Magic, tragedy, suddenness, songs, fear… New facets to this mystery. And the cliffhanger… I guess there’d be no 4th book if a huge PROBLEM doesn’t arise! Stupidity… I was very happy with the jump in pace and magical occurrences in this installment. I can’t wait to get my hands on The Raven King and see how this all ends…

DON’T DIE, GANSEY.

(And is this cover not GORGEOUS? It’s really quite simple, but green and blue are my 2 favorite colors, you can see the paint strokes, it’s all nature-y, gah! One of my favorite covers, ever.)

Blurb:

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

=====

First Noah. Then Gwenllian. Then tragedy. Then Greenmantle and Piper. Then an epic cavern adventure. Like I said, things happen! The first half of this book was our familiar pace, but the second half picked up quite a bit. Magical things have happened. This book brings us back to the group as a whole, rather than The Dream Thieves’ focus on Ronan and, secondly, Adam. Back to the mystery adventure! I loved the cavern part, by the way. Sounded so eerily gorgeous…

=====

I was so worried about Noah! In the beginning, he was acting so strange! He didn’t even know when it happened. I think it was kind of explained…? The second time, at least. But he’s still our smudgy, cute Noah – phew! I’m so worried that he’ll have to disappear by the end of the whole series??

=====

And this time, I feel that Adam is finally coming into his own. He’s still fragile, still sorting through his scrambled mind, but he’s finally realizing the depth of all their friendships. He’s a friend, not a charity case. Loved the court room scene to prove that. He constantly believed himself to be unknowable and isolated himself because of that. Yet he finds that he isn’t unknowable to the others. They know or they just want to understand. He is unknowable to himself. And I love Cabeswater protecting him! Though…yo, Cabeswater! Turn down the creepy factor a bit, huh??

Ronan. I love Ronan and all his ferocity, but it’s a wonderful ferocity. He’s taken a step back from the precipice of thrills and Kavinsky and now seems…kinder. Still nasty! Still sarcastic! Wouldn’t be Ronan without those. And more eccentric? Yes. He’s on his own magical mission on the side, still has secrets, but he’s so freakin’ adorable, agh.

The Pynch moments ❤ They are so cute. Ronan takes Adam to his farm, meets him alone, is so subtly sweet on him, their banters… Those shoulders touching and the surreptitious glances that are definitely not discreet… *sighs happily* Not to mention their own awesome side scheme!

=====

OMG, Gansey! I feel as though some of his stoicism in the face of this magical mystery has finally worn down to introduce fear. I hate seeing him afraid, but things begin changing in this book after cavern mishaps, tragedies, and actual scary shit appearing. It’s like he’s younger. But don’t worry! He’s still strong and level-headed for his posse. Are secrets of his hinted at in here? Not sure. And I am so terrified for him. I don’t want him to die! Is that really going to happen?? We don’t know right now! Thank goodness I read this with the last book released… #savegansey #latetotheparty

Blue… My Blue. She deals with strong emotions in this one, folks. She is still her stubborn, short, feminist, tough self, but now she, too, witnesses fearful things. She continues to be strong in a calm manner. And feisty. And I adore the humor that she shares with her family and her boys that, frankly, sometimes I don’t even get. It’s like dry humor. Or just weird. ❤

And they just want each other, guys. It’s sad to see both of them struggle with the whole you-kiss-her/him-you/he-die(s) thing and they don’t want to mess up this awesome group friendship. Gods, their late night calls… Their late night drive that had so much desire…*flails in sadness*

“Blue,” he warned, but his voice was chaotic. This close, his throat was scented with mint and wool sweater and vinyl car seat, and Gansey, just Gansey.

=====

So, more awesome character development plus magical story development! Maybe our group is finally noticing how their pieces fit in this mess of a jigsaw puzzle – how each of them fit pieces into their own individual puzzles.

Then Gwenllian shows up and she’s so hilariously, entertaining…ly(?) crazy – I love it. She says random shit all the time, singin’ and whatnot, and I just think she’s probably trying to tell me (them) something so important, but WTF is she saying…? Adds more zany to Blue’s family!

And then we have Greenmantle and Piper… Fuck you guys. Especially Piper. Messin’ shit up… *grumbles* Seriously hated Piper by the end. Mr. Gray is much cooler and more helpful for our characters in this one. I support him.

Jesse Dittley and his roaring voice were hilarious! And then fuckin’ Neeve.

I continue to love Stiefvater’s writing style. It was especially fun with the descriptions of parts you wouldn’t think to describe or in that way. Example: “the Dog looking generally judgemental.” So entertaining! And her characters make me wish I had a bit more wit to my humor and I was a word-hoarder, like Gansey. And I felt there was double the magical feel in this one, which I loved. Fingers crossed for some good news in the last book?

Adam stopped by one of the beasts near the front; its shoulder was taller than him, its great skull even higher, and above it all spread a set of antlers that seemed massive in comparison even to the giant skeleton. It was beautiful.

There are so many characters in this, I’m sorry for throwing these chunks words at you!

My rating:

my rating of 4/5
4/5

~

~

~

~

GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

Ta-ta for now, worms!


Did you read this book? How did you react to all the events?? Any character favorites (difficult, I know)? Comment below! (Careful of spoilers, though)

~Cover photo from Goodreads~

One thought on “Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) // Pynch?? and Epic Cavern Adventures!”

Leave a Reply

