Top Ten Tuesday banner

TTT // Top 10 Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About

Another Top Ten Tuesday post!

TTT was created by the Broke and the Bookish and this weeks theme is……*drum roll*…

Actually, I put it in the title, so….surprise! Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them! This one sounds so fun to me. Granted, I have to think back to everything books have piqued my interest toward, which took some time, but I did it!

Let’s just get right to it, then!


1. Travel

This will probably be a common one, but books really do make you want to travel! For example, after reading the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series by the magnificent Laini Taylor, I want to go to Prague SO. BADLY. That place is next on my list, whenever that may be… And the UK after reading books set there.

And even fantasy books make me want to travel, but to the hidden places – beautiful forests, old ruins, caverns, etc. I just want to find magical places.

travel

=====

2. Learn languages

Whenever there’s a character that shows their awesome skills with languages, I just envy them… I need to work on my motivation. BUT I am taking Spanish this coming semester and know some Japanese, so – progress!

=====

3. Draw

I’ve wanted to draw for a while now to bring characters out from my head, but motivation and hand problems have gotten a little in the way. One day, I promise! But I love when characters demonstrate artistic skills.

=====

4. Write

Hello?? The amazing books I’ve read with wonderful characters, interesting worlds, dangerous plots – I want to write like that! I want to bring my characters to life that way, too.

=====

5. Learn how to ballroom dance

It sounds so beautiful and like quite a workout! It’s a skill that is also becoming less and less common as time passes and we created different dance styles. And because we don’t commonly have balls and fancy parties anymore… But it’s truly an art form. The most recent read that brought back my interest was Dance with Me by Heidi Cullinan (an m/m novel).

=====

6. I want to improve my wit

My normal kind of humor is basically just…stupid humor. I do dumb things for laughs, but I lack in the quick-minded witty retort section. And I know much of the dialogue I see wouldn’t be as smooth in real life because someone took time to think it all up, but I’ve met generally witty people and sometimes I envy that. It’s hilarious stuff!

=====

7. Workout

Seriously. And it may help out my bodily ailments. I just read about these tough chicks doing tough things and I want to be strong like that…

=====

8. Work on my style how I want to

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m stingy with money. Also, the style of clothes I like aren’t readily available in stores around me, so the cost of buying online is high. But when I see characters like Blue from The Raven Cycle I want to really work on it…express myself! Once I get a job, maybe I can do better. Pretty normal style right now…

=====

9. Learn about folklore and mythology

I love books with plots or settings like this! I then want to look it all up and see what’s legitimate because authors do some awesome stuff with folklore and mythology.

=====

10. Learn archery (or any weapon skill for that matter)

The craving to learn archery happened when I read The Hunger Games because Katniss is badass and I wanted to be, too. But she’s not the only badass characters I’ve encountered. I’d love to learn how to use a sword or be a fearsome assassin or learn a form of martial arts. I just finished Morning Star and I’d love to learn something like kravat, but it doesn’t exist, so I’ll learn other stuff…


Welp, that’s it. 10 deeds books make me want to or made me perform. Anyone else share them?? I feel like some would be quite common.

Until next time. Ta-ta for now, worms!

10 thoughts on “TTT // Top 10 Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About”

  1. I think various books have make me want to do pretty much all of these things too. Aside from the ballroom dancing that is! As much as I would love to be able to dance I’ve had to admit to myself that I’m just far to clumsy for that sort of thing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh, yes, if only I were a good enough artist to actually draw the characters the way I envision them! Then I’d never lose that image in my head. And, you know, I’d have beautiful artwork lol.

    I had also made it one of my goals this year to learn more about folklore and mythology, but that just never happened :-/ If I had an actual book that explained about different creatures and the lore and legends behind them and all that, that would be super helpful. But when it’s just, like, I have to search the internet, that’s too much work, and I lose my motivation.

    And yeah, books kind of make me want to be really awesome with weapons or fighting too, and I have to remind myself that every time I’ve tried to learn any weapon or even taken a self defense class I just hated it lol.

    Like

  3. Great list! 😀 I would love to learn more languages. At this moment I know 3 fluently and I’m quiet happy with that. But I do want to learn some Italian and a bit of Japanese. So hopefully I’ll be able to get to them some time soon. Good luck with your language studies. 🙂
    I would also love to learn any weapon skill as well. I don’t really care which one it is, I’m interested in all of them. So I should probably find out where I can learn them and what’s available to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

