Morning Star (Red Rising #3) // A War-Torn Climax…in Space!

morning starAuthor: Pierce Brown

Published: February 9th 2016 by Del Rey

Pages: 524

Genres: young adult // dystopian // science fiction

| GOODREADS |

::THIS REVIEW CONTAINS NO SPOILERS FOR THIS BOOK, BUT MAY CONTAIN SOME FROM PREVIOUS ONES::


A bloodydamn excellent finale.

Damn, that was exciting. And heart-stuttering at times. This really was a fantastic ending to the series.

Now, I realized that I am extremely stingy with giving out 5 scale ratings… I’m trying to loosen up a little bit. I think it’s pressure to have the rating perfectly represent all my thoughts on the books and…that will just never happen. This book has small flaws, but I would really only knock it down by half a scale if I was being technical. SO! Since I also just seriously enjoyed it, I’ll mention any dislikes/flaws, but I’m giving it *drum roll* 5 scales! We’ll see how this loosening up goes, heh. And trying a slightly different review format so I don’t throw word blocks at you.

Red Rising: ascension

Golden Son: politics

Morning Star: war

=====

Blurb:

Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war. The Gold overlords demanded his obedience, hanged his wife, and enslaved his people. But Darrow is determined to fight back. Risking everything to transform himself and breach Gold society, Darrow has battled to survive the cutthroat rivalries that breed Society’s mightiest warriors, climbed the ranks, and waited patiently to unleash the revolution that will tear the hierarchy apart from within.

Finally, the time has come.

But devotion to honor and hunger for vengeance run deep on both sides. Darrow and his comrades-in-arms face powerful enemies without scruple or mercy. Among them are some Darrow once considered friends. To win, Darrow will need to inspire those shackled in darkness to break their chains, unmake the world their cruel masters have built, and claim a destiny too long denied—and too glorious to surrender.

=====

STORY THOUGHTS:

– I can definitely say Brown’s writing is awesome. It grew on me. And I don’t know if I’m noticing this correctly, but it actually helped with development? Or Darrow. The reason I say that is because I felt like it subtly changed and I didn’t notice it until I read chapter 47. The end of 46 built it up – action was about to hit – and when Darrow altered his mind for it, it was back to the vicious, choppy writing I remembered from earlier in the series. Now, I think it stopped because Darrow discovered himself the story progressed, but when he has to be ruthless, that’s what he reverts to. His unknown, determined self. Maybe I’m delusional – you tell me.

Fear is not real. If you’re watching, Eo, it’s time to close your eyes. The Reaper has come. And he’s brought hell with him.

I got so many chills while reading this. Brown knows how to use words to make an impact.

– The action was superb. “Change the paradigm” – they certainly fuckin’ changed it. I’m mainly talking about the ending climax. I didn’t see any of that coming, I didn’t know plans, I just know I was on the edge of my seat wondering how everything will end. Badass-ery was employed. And it’s wonderfully bloody. Always has been.

– I want to be a Howler.

I had a little leak from my eyes a couple of times… 2 from sadness and 1 from joy… Seriously, OMG, it suddenly pulled at my heart and when you throw that shit into 90% action, it sometimes hits harder than expected!

– Fantastic character development. More on that in a moment. I especially enjoyed chapter 22 – strong development for Darrow and Sevro. It was very touching.

FAIR WARNING: technology talk… I think it best to read all these books in close time proximity to each other; you will forget terms. (Unless you have a great memory.)

Maybe a little too much talking… Maybe could’ve lessened some or made some dialogue a little more fun or important – it felt a tad repetitive?

– The ending was sweet.

=====

CHARACTER THOUGHTS:

– DARROW: Oh, how he’s grown. I think in the 1st book, he let his new strength get to his head. I know he was successful, but you could tell and maybe it was just built from anger and realizing that could hold his own in the golden world. Then, in Golden Son, I feel he was still had an ego, but you also begin to see that he’s also severely struggling with his secret and not having anyone to talk to – maybe that contributed to his mistakes and his shield of superiority. But in this book…after the brutal ending of the last I just wanted to hold him away from all of the pain… He was awesome in this one after bouncing back. His beginning ego did make it hard to connect with him, but I think it was definitely better in this one. He realized he has true, loyal friends.

I howl because I am a Helldiver of Lykos. I am the Reaper of Mars.

– MUSTANG: I seem to have mixed feelings? Like, she never grew on me much, but I don’t hate her. She was a little manipulative, but maybe it’s due to this rigorous society. I can tell she cares for Darrow.

– SEVRO: Gods, I fuckin’ love this mad little wolf. He’s hilarious! He’s also an incredible friend. And if you can catch him embarrassed, it’s adorable. He may be small, but he packs a punch. My favorite (peanut butter-loving) character of the whole series. (Darrow x Sevro, anyone?)

Tidings! It’s Uncle Sevro and the Moderately Friendly Giant.

If your heart beats like a drum, and your legs a little wet, it’s because the Reaper’s come to collect a little debt.

– RAGNAR: Him and Sevro have one of the best relationships. The 1st part between them was hilarious. A large man with a huge soul.

– VICTRA: She is so loyal. I was really worried about her character in the beginning, but she makes me happy. I was iffy in the 2nd book, but she proved herself and was even better in this one.

=====

– THE JACKAL: Fucker. I pity him, too, and kind of wish he changed, but, alas…he will forever be a hateful ass. I wanted to stab him myself. Fantastic antagonist.

– AJA: Fuck you. My word, like… She’s badass in her own right, but damn if I didn’t want her dead long ago.

– OCTAVIA: You can’t be the queen of the solar system, OK?? She’s so indifferent to everything and messing shit up for Darrow and company – I don’t like you. Pretty tough antagonist, though, I’ll give her that.

– ROQUE: I really missed his and Darrow’s friendship… I always enjoyed Roque’s company around Darrow, so I was so upset to see his betrayal in Golden Son… I hoped they could get him back throughout the book. He may not have ever been as strong as the others, but he is quite intelligent.

My rating:

my rating of 5/5
5/5

~

~

~

I cannot wait to read Brown’s next trilogy. The fact that it’s actually looking at the after effects of this revolution is uncommon and exciting.

IF YOU WANT TO TALK SPOILERS FOR THIS BOOK, THERE IS A RANT COMPANION. THE PASSWORD IS: breakthechains

Ta-ta for now, worms!



 Did you read this book? What’d you think of the finale? Comment below! (Careful of spoilers, though)

~Cover photo from Goodreads~

~Review also posted on Goodreads~

One thought on “Morning Star (Red Rising #3) // A War-Torn Climax…in Space!”

Leave a Reply

