The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) // The Finale to a Magical Mystery – I’ll Miss Blue & Her Raven Boys!

the raven kingAuthor: Maggie Stiefvater

Published: April 26th 2016 by Scholastic Press

Pages: 439

Genres: young adult // mystery // supernatural

| GOODREADS |

::THERE ARE NO SPOILERS FOR TRK, BUT WILL BE FOR PREVIOUS BOOKS::


OK. First, I want to get it off my chest that I liked it, but…I was also disappointed… *hides face* No, no, I shouldn’t be ashamed of it. Everyone is different!Black-Sheep resize I will say, however, that if I EVER sound like I am bashing on a book/someone with a differing opinion, PLEASE, PLEASE tell me. Because that is SO far from my intentions. I just like having discussions and sharing thoughts, seeing different opinions and such. So I will explain my disappointments below. BUT THIS IN NO WAY MEANS I DIDN’T LIKE IT AT ALL. Because I still did. I loved how the magic got scary in this one. It was so dark and grotesque. Our group has grown so much throughout this series and we see them at their finest here!

Blurb:

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

=====

STORY THOUGHTS:

Likes:

– The creepy factor was so exciting. And fearful, especially for Adam. Holy shit, I was so concerned for him. I really loved it, though, flipping from the mysterious, whimsical magic from before.

– Stiefvater gives the spotlight to all her creations and I really appreciate that.

– Ronan & Blue’s friendship and interactions. Seriously, great dynamics here with “asshole” being thrown and shoving. Showed that Ronan really did accept her without being so forward about it.

– Pynch moments. 

Our group finally understanding what they want and discovering themselves.

His feelings for Adam were an oil spill; he’d let them overflow and now there wasn’t a damn place in the ocean that wouldn’t catch fire if he dropped a match.


Dislikes:

– Slow, slow progression to an anti-climactic ending. It threw us into it within the last several chapters, but I kinda wish there was more substance? And part of the ending was quite disappointing.

– This’ll sound strange, but…the writing seemed too whimsical at times! Too poetic to where I had a little (kind of a lot) of trouble understanding what was being said. Now this can be said for the previous books at times, too, but for some reason, I felt it more this time around. So I just glossed over words to get to the core.

– It left some questions and maybe plot holes… Like a couple things weren’t explained. I can explain more in the rant companion, but no spoilers allowed here!

(more details in the rant companion)

=====

CHARACTER THOUGHTS:

I will be talking about all the characters from the whole series, even if brief statements, just to say something and make my feelings toward them known.

What a strange constellation they all were.

– BLUE: A fantastically wonderful female character. Strong, sensible (heh), something more. She finally sees that she is something more. I love her in all her eccentricities. This past year has been amazing, but sad for her…and yet she remains steadfast for her raven boys and her family.

– GANSEY: Our mother hen… He’s got so many different sides to him that reveal themselves to certain people and at certain times. He’s also a word-hoarder. I will always love him. And I find his obliviousness to be quite adorable, until it gets in the way of understanding. I can relate to his desire for magical adventures. And sometimes you wanna smack him.

– RONAN: Definitely my favorite character. Sometimes I feel bad playing favorites, but I love him. He’s “ferocious and loyal and fragile”. And as you read the books, you see more and more of him, less gruffness and more quirks. I love his ‘fuck all’ attitude, but he discards it when he knows it matters.

– ADAM: Ugh, he finally sees how much love he truly has around him! I wanted to just pack him in a bubble, but he finally makes it out of his sense of forever being unloved and unknowable. He doesn’t want to fight anymore. You want to smack him a few times throughout the series, too. Let’s not forget the awesome guardian of his that is Cabeswater!

Adam smiled cheerily. Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.

– NOAH: My shy little ghost… I love him! He’s somewhat reserved with bursts of humor and quirks peppered about. I was so worried about him last book and was a little disappointed he didn’t show up as much this time…

– HENRY: I actually liked him. I don’t know if I can consider him one of our raven boys, yet, but I liked that he brought humor and help to everyone. I wasn’t expecting him to be as important to the story.

‘Look at this,’ Henry called from a few yards away. His voice was theatrically shocked. ‘I have discovered that, at some point, this side door was broken into by a teenage Korean vandal.’

– BLUE’S HOUSEHOLD: I want to live there. Seriously. I love Maura, Calla, and Persephone’s dynamics (I miss you, Persephone…). The others don’t contribute as much, but they still bring different qualities to the house.

– GWENLLIAN: I actually adored her. She’s even zanier than the other members of Blue’s household, saying strange, yet meaningful things… And that hair.

– VILLAINS: More villains?? I hated them all. That’s it. Messin’ shit up. The demon is pretty terrifying.

=====

EXTRA TIDBIT: I really like this song…for this book… It doesn’t relate exactly, but both are magical and have kings. So. AND SOME FAN ART:

pynch fan art
(click through to the artist’s DA)
bluesey fan art
(click through to the artist’s DA)

My rating:

my rating of 3/5
3/5

~

~

~

THIS REVIEW COMES WITH A RANT COMPANION. The password is pynchXbluesey

Ta-ta for now, worms!



Did you read this book? What’d you think of the finale, the magic? Comment below! (Careful of spoilers, though)

~Cover photo from Goodreads~

~Review also posted on Goodreads~

2 thoughts on “The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) // The Finale to a Magical Mystery – I’ll Miss Blue & Her Raven Boys!”

Leave a Reply

