The Reader Confession Tag!

I was tagged by Anna @ My Bookish Dream (check her out, yo) to do this fun one! But a quick note:

PINGBACKS FROM OTHER BLOGS AREN’T WORKING FOR ME??

I checked, and the box to get pingbacks IS CHECKED. However, pingbacks for some of my pages unchecked themselves… This is the second tag I’ve come across that didn’t alert me. NO WONDER I’VE BEEN MISSING THE FUN OF TAGS. *cries*

brave give up

Seriously, though, I don’t know what happened. I think I fixed it. So if you have tagged me in anything for the past 2 months or so, I didn’t know and I’m sorry! *sighs sadly*

=====

Back to the tag!

The rules are simply that I answer the following questions. So enjoy!


1. Have you ever damaged a book?

Uuuuuh, I don’t think so… Wait, I did get a little foodstuffs on the cover of my Gudetama book from Japan…I accidentally layed it on a table with uncleaned goop on it that I didn’t see…

Other than that, nope! Though, someone damaged my Mortal Instruments trilogy set when I thought I could trust her. Grr.

2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

I can’t say that I have… I’ve dropped them more than the ones I own, but no serious damage has been caused. I think I’m quite careful with all books! Those books being from the library. If we’re talking books borrowed from friends and such? Never.

3. How long does it take you to read a book?

IT VARIES SO MUCH. Really depends on if I’m hitting a reading slump, too. Like right now, actually… I started Clockwork Angel days ago…and only finished the prologue so far *shame*

Excluding reading slumps, as long as I get really into the story (and have the time), I can finish in less than a week. So, I’d say average has to be 2 weeks MAXIMUM. But there have been times I’ve gone over that, especially if I’m reading 7 books at once *ahem*

4. Books that you haven’t finished?

I just made a post about this! A post about why you DNF books. I, myself, have only DNF-ed 4 books:

Eclipse (Twilight #3) by Stephanie Meyer (finally gave up after persevering)

Hunted (House of Night #5) by P.C. Cast (I didn’t like the main character as much anymore…it was all getting messy)

Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken (sorry, but this was boring and I didn’t feel the romance like maybe I should’ve)

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff (just got bored…)

There could be others in my far-away past that I don’t remember, but this goes back to early high school, so that’s doin’ pretty good for my memory.

5. Hyped/Popular books you didn’t like?

Honestly, I usually end up liking the hyped ones, hah. And I don’t tend to dislike them, but I was disappointed. I haven’t read many hyped ones recently. But there are a few I can think of that I didn’t like as much as others:

aristotle_and_dante_discover_the_secrets_of_the_universe_coverthe raven king

TSOAtwilight

6. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you’re reading?

Ummmmm… 99% of family doesn’t know I read any m/m novels/manga… I don’t really feel the need to tell them. I don’t really care to. It’s information that I share with people I think should know. So only my mum and twin sister. And one of my brothers. That’s it!

But even they don’t know to what extent I read it…how explicit it gets…huhuhu.

7. How many books do you own?

Less than 100… Probably less than 50 if you discount the ones I’m trying to sell… (Y’know, I wish I could do giveaways or something, but they’re older books and I seriously need the money right now *sighs*)

They’re in boxes, right now, so I can’t actually count them. But I’ve moved around a lot due to school and such AND I’m a poor college student, so my collection is puny.

UPDATE:

I forgot ebooks!! I have a LOT. They’re cheaper and portable and I haven’t actually counted them…

8. Are you a fast reader or a slow one?

It varies. Sometimes I can stay so focused, maybe even enough to speed read. Other times, my mind wanders, so I have to slow down a bit. My friend can read, like 5 books in a day (only slightly exaggerated).

9. Do you like to buddy read?

I’ve never tried it! I can imagine due to the fact that when my friend and I happen to read the same book at the same time, we gush to each other constantly (or rant):

excited - it's all happening gif

10. Do you read better in your head or out loud?

I actually used to read aloud for years before. But due to wanting to read in classrooms and in public, I had to get out of that. So now I do way better in my head. Manga can be fun aloud, though, due to voices being used instead of lots of narration (thank you pictures!).

11. If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be?

WHY WOULD YOU ASK THIS? I’d want a standalone because I’d die without closure… Hm…

I’m just gonna sneak in here and morph the Captive Prince trilogy into one book…

All my favorites are series!

I’ll just morph In the Company of Shadows into one 4,000 page book, too…and Red Rising and Cassandra Clare books and The Darkest Powers

Fine, if I had to choose one standalone book, I would go with:

NO, SERIOUSLY CAN’T DO THIS. I’m having so much trouble, you guys.


Now, who to tag…

Chloe @ (Over)Analyzing Literature

Fernanda @ Mystery Date with a Book

Jessica @ The Awkward Book Blogger

Esther @ Chapter Adventures

As always, you don’t have to do the tag. Maybe you’ve already done it. And if you aren’t tagged, but still want to, go for it!

Ta-ta for now, worms!

16 thoughts on “The Reader Confession Tag!”

  1. Don’t pingbacks only show if the person linked to a specific post? I’ve never figured out any way of knowing if links to my homepage. If there is a way, can you tell me? Because I’d love to know so that I don’t miss out on things either lol. Then again I was also tagged for this and still haven’t done because I’m terrible with tags, so…

    Don’t worry, my collection is less than 100 books too! Everyone else has entire libraries and I’m over here with one little tiny shelf lol. And I also wouldn’t be able to pick a standalone, I’m a series person too, so I’d also just choose a series for that question 😛

    Like

    1. I had to go in to edit mode on each page, not posts. I don’t know if pingbacks work on homepages because I can’t actually edit it…it’s a permanent fixture. But all your other pages should have a little check box when you edit them to “allow pingbacks”. Just make sure they’re checked. Now, since it looks like you might be self-hosting(?) or maybe you just bought the domain name. I don’t know if things work differently on self-hosting. But that’s what I had to do!

      Yeah, I’m quite envious of those libraries, but I keep moving and don’t have the money, so the actual town libraries are my go-to’s!
      Series all the way! I hope to find an absolute favorite standalone one day…

      Like

  2. So yours unchecked themselves as well! Gaaaah! That’s terrible, at least now you have that fixed!
    Good job on not damaging any books! Ugh, it’s the worst when other people damage your books – it’s even worse than when you do it by yourself. -.-
    Buddy reads are the best! I love reading books together with my friends and then discussing them together. 😀

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for tagging me! I read at the same pace as you do, I think. But it really does depend on how much time I have. I used to read books in two days 😥
    And, as much as I love The Raven Cycle, the Raven King was a disappointment for me. Ari and Dante was also a bit of a let down, it was a bit too cheesy for me. But as you said, I didn’t disliked them, I did enjoy them but wasn’t as amazed as everyone else.

    Like

    1. Your welcome!
      Yeah, it definitely varies. Sometimes I wanna do other things, too!

      I don’t like disappointments, but it happens! I was hoping I’d love them, but eh. I like all the books before TRK more. And Ari and Dante was sweet, but not 5 stars.

      I can’t wait to see your answers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

