Top Ten Tuesday banner

TTT // Top 10 Anime and TV Shows

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday! This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The bookish. This weeks theme is…*drum rool*

Anything relating to TV shows!

Really, anything. So It’ll be fun seeing what people decide to do. Mine is basic because I don’t actually watch that much TV (and have recently hit a huge anime slump!). So I’m just doing my Top Ten anime and TV shows! Now, I’m really bad at picking favorites. So I don’t like any of these a ton more than the others on the list. And I might have more than 10.

Let’s get to it:


1. GAME OF THRONES

OMG, I just started this a few months ago and I LOVE IT. I have watch seasons 1-5, just waiting on season 6. Do I have favorite characters? YES. I love Ned Stark, Daenerys, Tyrion, JON SNOW and his luscious locks:

sad jon snow

=====

2. SHERLOCK

I actually just came in and edited this post because HOLY FUCK, HOW DID I FORGET SHERLOCK?? This is definitely a favorite! Maybe because I have to wait so long for more?? Ugh, I love the character dynamics in this. And I ship Sherlock and Watson – don’t judge me. But it’s a subtle way. The show does it write with their bromance.

3. FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST: BROTHERHOOD

If you enjoy anime, you should totally watch this. Seriously. It’s so good. Awesome characters, great humor, a fantastic storyline, and ALCHEMY. I own the DVDs, I have a lot of the full theme songs in my iTunes and really need to re-watch it again, soon.

Ed ❤ Mustang ❤ Hawkeye ❤ Alphonse, you’re adorable ❤

FMAB

=====

towa no quon4. TOWA NO QUON

This is a lesser known anime. And it’s super short: 6 almost-an-hour-long episodes. GREAT animation, transformations, and characters. Not much to say about the story because it’s short anyway, so it’s best to see for yourself. The DVD cover art drew me in:

=====

5. XAM’D: LOST MEMORIES

Another lesser known anime! Also contains transformations… I’m a sucker for stuff like that. Especially if the animation is wonderful, which it is. Crazy alien-monster-things that look really cool and a unique cast of characters. It’s one of those hit-or-miss anime for watchers. I ended up being on the side of liking it!

=====

6. FATE/ZERO

Another one with fantastic animation. This is action-y and bloody and awesome. It’s been a while since I saw it, so I can’t remember too much. It had some badass characters and a couple that you despise. The duo that was more for comedic relief has to be one of my favorites.

=====

7. SAMURAI CHAMPLOO

This has a samurai character that fights in a break dance style, folks. It. Is. Awesome. The animation is really fluid, too (needs to be with the sword fighting). The glasses samurai is so cynical, but hilarious in his own way. The trio of MCs has great dynamics. Recommend!

Just check out the first fight between our 2 fellas! (Click it!)

=====

8. ALDNOAH.ZERO

Mecha! But with an amazing story. Some focus too much on the mecha aspect. I loved the characters. The plot is intense and shit goes down. I’ve only seen the 1st season, though. I need to re-watch it and see the 2nd!

=====

9. TORADORA

Oh, man… This is athe funniest, cutest little romance anime ever. The animation (once again) is spot on and all the character dynamics are fantastic! It’s actually one of the first few anime I’ve ever seen, so it’s been a while since I first saw it.

=====

10. MONONOKE

THIS IS BEAUTIFUL. And creepy at times. This show is about an exorcist travelling around posing as a medicine seller. There are about 4 or 5 arcs in the short series dealing with different exorcisms. And it’s beautiful. (I may find the exorcist to be attractive…) It’s not very well known, either.

mononoke anime gif


love fluidly animated fight scenes. Hot damn.

I recommend all of these.

.FIN.

(Notice the lack of live action shows…don’t watch those much until recently.)

Ta-ta for now, worms!

13 thoughts on “TTT // Top 10 Anime and TV Shows”

  1. I absolutely love Game of Thrones too, and Sherlock is one of my all time favourites! It’s so annoying that the gap between series is so long though, but I guess it’s pretty good that Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are still up for doing a TV show at all considering how famous they now are. I can’t wait for series 4!
    I’ve been thinking of watching some anime for a while seen as I’ve gotten into reading manga recently, so I’ll definitely have to try out some of your favourite shows. My boyfriend loves anime and I know he has recommended Fullmetal Alchemist and Samurai Champloo (plus he’s played me the theme music to it and it’s so awesome!), so I might start with them. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeeeess, I understand why there are such gaps between series – each one is the length of a movie! But it’s still agonizing. I’m also glad they’re still doing this!

      Oh, if you ever need any other recommendations, let me know!
      Yay, another FMAB and Samurai Champloo fan! 😉 I love finding new Japanese musics thanks to anime!
      Thanks!

      Like

    1. Yeah, I’m working on getting into live action shows. I want to get my hands on Mr. Robot. I need to start watching Stranger Things. AND I’m in the middle of How to Get Away with Murder and Blacklist. They just aren’t favorites, like GoT and Sherlock.
      I’m just not usually one to sit and watch shows all that much. Until more recently, at least!

      Like

    1. Your comment went straight to spam, so sorry for the late response!
      Hey, these shows might not be your cup o’ tea and that’s OK! If you’re ever interested in watching anime, I, of course, recommend these 😉 And if you ever want an awesome fantasy show, definitely try GoT (*^*) Of course, you could also just try the books if you’d prefer.
      Thanks for sharing – I’ll check your TTT out, too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I think I’m going to need to up my frequency of checking, too (=_=;)
          I would normally do it about once or twice a week (I tend to forget it’s there…), but that’s quite a problem when I find genuine comments days later. *sighs*

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

