Top Ten Tuesday banner

TTT // Top 10 Books of X Genre – Fantasy Edition!

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

This weeks theme allows everyone to choose their own genres and create a top 10. I chose a pretty general one, but not as general as it could be!

I chose fantasy! (I know this’ll probably be a common one.)

These books may also have overlapping genres, like paranormal, but as long as fantasy or urban fantasy is a focus, we good.

Let’s do this! It ended up being 11…

(These aren’t in any order of favorites. I recommend all of them!)

=====

dragonlance-chronicles

#1, 2, 3: The Dragonlance: Chronicles by Margaret Weis & Tracy Hickman

It’s been quite a while since I read these books, but DRAGONS. I loved them. It’s got a wacky group of characters, all different races. It also has a hilarious wizard with a crooked hat that has a big secret *winks* This was my first non-young adult fantasy series. I read more of the Dragonlance books, too. As well as the Drizzt books. Anyway, it has magic and dragons and gods and war. Fantastic!

| GOODREADS |


blackbringer#4: Faeries of Dreamdark: Blackbringer by Laini Taylor

This was my first book by Laini Taylor and I loved it. I love faeries, but it can be difficult to find a really good book about them. I found one! I need to reread it because I forget a ton about it. I remember it being fun and having dark magic and our MC fae rides crows!

| GOODREADS |


themortalinstruments

#5, 6, 7: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

A fine example of urban fantasy, folks. (And some paranormal.) This is also due for a reread! It’s been over 4 years since I read this! I absolutely loved it in high school, so it’ll always have a place in my heart. The setting and characters are awesome. (I haven’t actually read the last 3 books, though…) And I’m sure you all know by now that, yes, I am still getting out of my reading slump and trying to get into TID. Patience!

| GOODREADS |


the lightning struck heart cover#8: The Lightning-Struck Heart by Tj Klune

The funniest book I’ve ever read in my life, so far. We have awkwardness, obliviousness, gay perverted humor, sass, a unicorn, a knight, a sexually aggressive dragon, some sadness. It’s fuckin’ hilarious. And magic, of course! Seriously, though, a really fun read. I love our awkward main hero. (M/M)

| GOODREADS | REVIEW |


dosab

#9, 10, 11: Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor

More Laini Taylor! I couldn’t help it. She writes magic! And another good example of urban fantasy. (With some paranormal, maybe?) I loved this spin on “angels” and “demons”. Freakin’ chimeras! Hell yeah. I loved all the characters, even if some needed a slap in the face. I loved the magic and Karou’s make-shift family. I love the whole concept! If I could afford lots of books, I think Taylor would be an auto-buy.

| GOODREADS |

=====

.FIN.

Have you read any of these books, too?? Let’s gush, hah.

Until next time, worms (of books)!

19 thoughts on “TTT // Top 10 Books of X Genre – Fantasy Edition!”

  1. Wait, The Lightning Struck Heart is *funny*?? Not that that’s a bad thing, just wasn’t what I thought it was. I’m actually just waiting for the second book to come out so that I can read both in a row since my guess is that I’m definitely going to want to 😛

    By the way I decided to go for The High King’s Golden Tongue! I also got one of the books in Megan Derr’s Dance with the Devil series. I never skip in series, but I skipped to Book 5 since apparently it works as like a standalone, and that was the one that sounded interesting to me lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, it’s hilarious! I knew going in due to reviews, but also the blurb was so wacky, I would’ve been surprised had it not been a comedy, haha. I can’t wait for the next books. I will say that if you are tempted, there is closure for the first book’s story, but it just adds a few details at the very end to let you know the series will continue with more adventures 😉

      Yay! I hope you enjoy it! I did not know those could be standalones! I’ll have to look at the blurbs for them, now!

      Like

      1. To be honest I don’t know if I’ve ever actually read the blurb for Lightning Struck Heart. Or I might’ve just skimmed it or forgotten. I just know it’s TJ Klune and fantasy and the title and cover are good, so that’s enough for me to want to try it lol. The next one is supposed to come out in 2017 though, so I can wait 🙂

        Like

  2. I haven’t finished TMI (I plan on reading books 4, 5, and 6 before the year is over) and I have to say that it would still make my list (if I created one). I did read TID and have to say, Cassandra Clare knows how to create a beautiful world!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love Laini Taylor too!! Very excited for her new book next year 😀 I’ll have to add the Dragonlance books to my TBR because those sound awesome (plus dragons? * nods * dragons are always good).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

