September 2016 RECAP // Books and the OVERWHELMING WORK OF A CAPSTONE

I forgot this month was ending until I got on here today and saw wrap-up posts… So lost in figuring school stuff out, I forgot to write a recap post!

tired of school gif

But September has ended, folks!

My book escapades were in spurts. I had time to read and I didn’t, I made time to read and I couldn’t… Also, I think they were all M/M novels?? Wait, no, there was a young adult one. Y’all will see below. (I think it’s the convenience of my M/M ones being portable ebooks, which is not so for my YA…)

I read 9 books this month! (Again.) Looks like just one more book away from completing my reading challenge, too!


LIFE:

i DON’T EVEN WANNA TALK ABOUT IT. I’ve never had this many papers and reading homework in a semester… My capstone course if making me have to actually plan my semester schedule around homework…like when to do what… Never had to do that! It’s quite demanding.

I’ve been able to make some time sometimes for reading and gaming. School has stalled my car searching, too! Unfortunately, most of the books I read didn’t get a review… Relaxing reads and all…

CURRENTLY GAMING: Final Fantasy XIII-2


BLOG POSTS:

All the Series Ever Tag! (Read, Reading, To-Be-Read)

TTT // Top 10 Anime and TV Shows

TTT // Top 10 Books of X Genre – Fantasy Edition!

TTT // Top 10 Recent Song Obsessions


BOOKS:

Alphabetical order, yo.

=====

WHAT I LOVED:

I didn’t actually have any that I absolutely loved… I will say I love the concept of The Archived, though!! So cool. You’ll find it below.

=====

DISAPPOINTMENTS:

family of lies: sebastian

3.5/5 scales

So the writing in this confused me, I liked the characters, and I liked the magic. But overall, not quite what I expected.

| GOODREADS |

trusted-bond-coh-2

3/5 scales

(Book #2) Threw a ton of stuff at you in the beginning, yo. It had some cool moments and good character development, though.

| GOODREADS |

=====

EVERYTHING IN BETWEEN:

adulting-101

4/5 scales

This was just so cute and funny. It also had some seriously relatable content (like not knowing what you wanna do with your life). Poor guys got interrupted so many times, though, hah. (This will also be in a future MINI review once I get one more book to add.)

| GOODREADS |

the archived

4/5 scales

Loved the concept. Had some awesome characters, the MC was tough and determined. Got a mystery and some twists. Really liked this one! My intro to the Schwab Squad! Check out my review.

| GOODREADS |

beta-test

3.5 scales

(Book #2) I didn’t like this one as much as the first one, but I still didn’t really consider it a disappointment. My expectations aren’t usually as high for contemporary stuff. But it was cute! Check out my double review, including this.

| GOODREADS |

clear-water

3.5-4/5 scales (undecided)

I forget so many of my thoughts due to school… But it was really cute and Patrick is a wonderful character! I loved him. (This will also be in a future MINI review once I get one more book to add.)

| GOODREADS |

high-kings-golden-tongue

3.5/5 scales (may change to 4, undecided)

This one was so fun. I loved the characters and all there banter! The kind of dynamics I like! Check out my review.

| GOODREADS |

honored-vow-coh-3

4/5 scales

(Book #3) This was my favorite of the series so far. Great character development and plot.

| GOODREADS |

status-update

4/5 scales

SO CUTE. I really liked this one. The MCs worked really well together, even at the faster pace. Check out my double review, including this.

| GOODREADS |

trusted-bond-coh-2

3/5 scales

(Book #2) Threw a ton of stuff at you in the beginning, yo. It had some cool moments and good character development, though. (Yes, this is in 2 positions on purpose.)

| GOODREADS |


REMEMBER:: the disappointments don’t mean they were all bad, maybe you’ll like them more than me! Also, “disappointments” doesn’t always mean I disliked it – it could mean I liked it, just not as much as I was expecting.

CURRENTLY READING: just check out my Goodreads

OCTOBER TBR: hah! TBRs are non-existent due to school.

Ta-ta for now, worms!


Did you read any of these books? What did you think of them? (Careful of spoilers, though)

If you want to know more about what I thought of a book (that isn’t linked to a review), go ahead and ask!

4 thoughts on “September 2016 RECAP // Books and the OVERWHELMING WORK OF A CAPSTONE”

  1. Hi Aralyn! It sounds like you’ve had a very busy September. What’s capstone? (We don’t have those in New Zealand.) I googled it, and from what I understand, it sounds like a big project done at your last year of high school?

    I haven’t read The Archived, but I’m glad you liked it. I like Schwab’s other books, so I’m pretty interested to read her earlier works.

    Oh, how is FFXIII-2? I bought it on Steam to play on the PC, but the port is rubbish so I can barely play it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! It definitely has been busy. It’ll only get even more so as the semester progresses!
      I’m not sure if they have capstones in certain high schools, but you’re right about what it is! It’s the final, senior year course that is like an accumulation of your degree knowledge into one, big, semester-long project. In my case, it’ll end with a 12-20 page research paper (UGH).

      I hope to continue The Archived series and get to ADSoM!

      That sucks that you can’t play it :/ I like it. It’s not a favorite, but I like the crystarium better in this one, it’s a cool time-traveling concept, and great characters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

