Top Ten Tuesday banner

TTT // Top 10 Books I Read Because I Was Told To

Happy Tuesday, folks! I can’t do them every week, but I’m back with another installment of Top Ten Tuesday!

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. And this week’s topic? All About Books You Read Because of Recommendations.

Now, if you are a bookworm, you tend to have bookworm friends. I do. And from them, as well as any from fellow bloggers/bookish community members, I have created my list of 10. (Past and present book people.)

So let’s get to it.

**These are in no particular order**

=====

books in the CP trilogy

1. The Captive Prince trilogy by C.S. Pacat

OMG, ONE OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE SERIES, NOW. I’m so glad I read this. I think it was recommended by my friend, but it may have also just been the online book community (you folks are awesome). It starts a little rough (for those faint of heart), but it gets oh so good as you read the next books. The characters, the political mind games, the sexual tension… *swoons*

GOODREADS


warriors: into the wild2. Warriors series by Erin Hunter

So y’all might have already seen me mention this series in a few other posts… I can’t help it! They truly made an impact on me in the past… But these were recommended to me by a friend in the library as I was struggling to find something good. I’m forever thankful! I wonder what it’d be like to try reading them again after all this time…

GOODREADS


red rising cover3. Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown

This was basically “recommended” to me by the bookish community. I’m so glad I read it. It’s the best sci-fi dystopian I’ve ever read. (OK, it’s the only one, but still!) I wanna be a Howler, I loved the characters, and I loved the world-building. The action was awesome and the twists were well done.

GOODREADS


the summoning4. The Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong

This was recommended to me back in high school by my sister. We have similar tastes in books. And I’m so glad. I’ve reread this a couple times. I know this has also shown up in other posts… I don’t actually get that many direct recs! Anyway, love the characters and the plot was simple, but oh so fun.

GOODREADS


dragonlance5. The Dragonlance Chonicles by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

These were recommended by my dad. He loves fantasy books. I read more books in the Dragonlance world after these. But this is an awesome series with dragons, wizards, gods, magic, different races, a huge world. It’s so fun. I recommend if you’re looking for any fantasy reads!

GOODREADS


bloodraven6. Bloodraven by P.L Nunn

(M/M) This is not for the faint of heart! I must be one tough cookie for this being my first m/m book recommended (kind of) to me by a close friend. My experience in the world of yaoi helped. But this has one spot of rape, torture, and it’s a slave scenario. Plus ogres and a half-ogre… It’s a weird one. Don’t judge me. This genuinely has a good fantasy plot and world-building, though. It sucks you in.

GOODREADS


fruits basket7. Fruits Basket series by Natsuki Takaya

(Crap, folks, I really don’t get many recs… Another one that’s already popped in 1 or 2 posts…) This was also recommended by my sister and it’s one of my all-time favorite manga series. It’s romance with Zodiac magic and deep human issues… I highly recommend giving it a shot (not the anime). And our main character is so kind and strong.

GOODREADS


gone8. Gone series by Michael Grant

This was actually recommended by my mom. She only got through the first and maybe the second, but she said it sounded like something I’d like. So I tried it – I had so much fun. It’s more brutal than I expected at the time. These kids get crazy. The concept is interesting. Watching them all struggle on their own and in this hierarchy… It was a ride. And I got through all 7 books!

GOODREADS


the-host9. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

I did not like the Twilight Saga, but I actually really enjoyed The Host. I’m not big on alien books, but this was more subtle about it. So the alien concept was actually cool. And I liked the diverse cast of characters. Of course, I wanted to punch some sometimes, but that’s the risk that comes with books, yo. Anyway, this is due for a reread because I don’t remember enough to say much here…

GOODREADS


others

10. The Others series by Anne Bishop

This series is still unfinished, but my close friend also recommended this to me. I don’t really read any adult m/f romance due to my personal uncomfortable-ness with the sex, but this is mega slow-burn romance and I don’t even know how explicit it’ll get. Its focus is on the story and oh, how fun it is. I love the characters and the whole concept is fantastic!

GOODREADS

=====

That’s it! 

This was really hard… I actually don’t receive that many recs directly. I already know what I love and go searching for whatever I’m in the mood for, so *shrugs* I probably have a few others I can’t think of.

Have y’all read these?? What’d ya think? See any on here you might try now because of my own indirect recommendating? Heh.

Ta-ta for now, worms (of books)!

12 thoughts on “TTT // Top 10 Books I Read Because I Was Told To”

  1. I pushed myself to read Gone, the first couple of bools were actually good and peaked my interest, then there were too many books. I think it should have ended a lot sooner than it did. I’m not saying it was a bad series, just really unnecessarily long. I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Host, I just didn’t like Twilight so I put to off. Maybe I’ll read it someday. Good list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the length of the series is what turns people off and I totally understand. I guess I just persevered, but yes, it probably could’ve been trimmed up and made shorter.

      I recommend it! I enjoyed it so much more than Twilight. Plus, it’s just one book, so no need to worry about a series. (Though, she might make it into one in the future? Not sure, but it’d possible with the ending.) I hope you read it and let me know what you think!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore the Gone series by Michael Grant! I haven’t seen many other people who have read it but like you it was way more brutal than I expected.
    I also liked The Host a ton more than the Twilight saga.
    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not a very commonly read series… I have a feeling it may have to do with the number of books in it 😐
      I love unexpected darkness and brutality, though!

      I’m glad we agree about The Host! I was wary, but glad I picked it up.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m gonna be just another person to recommend it, too 😉
      Take your time getting there – wouldn’t want you reading it in not-the-right-mood, y’know? But I hope you like it whenever you do!
      (I’m not a fan of the anime. The manga has SO MUCH MORE to it.)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, please do! I really liked the Gone series. If you try it, I hope you like it! It’s young adult, but there are a lot of young kids involved, too, so it may come off as middle grade at the same time. Fair warning 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

