Top Ten Tuesday banner

TTT // Top 10 Character Names I’d Give Whatever I Could Name (from books)

Alright, I have a small list of loved names on my phone, so I was pretty excited when I saw this one.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is “Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car/Etc. After”!

I don’t think I’d be able to choose who or what I’d use each name on… I like them all enough that I could name a pet or car or something after each one.

So here is my list in no certain order!

=====

1. Kestrel

This one is from The Winner’s trilogy. I’ve only read the 1st book, but I adored her name. I didn’t immediately know it was the name of a bird until it was mentioned. But I just really like the sound of it. I also find her to be a tough character after reading The Winner’s Curse

2. Karou

Her name means hope in the language made for the Daughter & Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor (right? It’s not a real language?) and I like the meaning along with the unique sound of it. Plus, she’s just an amazing character.

3. Ronan

Yes. I first came across his name in Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle. And I’m not sure how unique it really is, but it was the first time I’ve ever seen that name. I like the simple sound of it. And I love Ronan as a character, OMG. He’s adorable and snarky and tough.

4. Dorian

I’ve only read the first 2, maybe, of the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, but I saw this name and thought it had such a regal, yet cute ring to it. I just really liked it. I wish I could remember more to his character from those couple books… But I think I liked him. (And I immediately shipped him with Chaol, hehe.)

5. Laurent

I know this is, like, a French name and I’m not French, but it’s such a pretty name! I got it from our beloved duo in the Captive Prince trilogy by C.S. Pacat – one of my all-time favorite couples. Ugh, and he is such a fantastically intelligent and sarcastic character. You will fall in love with him.

6. Zane

Simple, but cool. I first saw it in the book Hawksong by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, but it’s also in an M/M series I’m in the middle of called Cut & Run by Abigail Roux. I can’t remember much about Zane from Hawksong, but I’m currently reading the Cut & Run series – that Zane is pretty cool. He can be such a sweetheart to his man, Ty (but I think I like Ty’s character just a little more – he’s awesome).

7. Chaol

 Hey, look! Another from Throne of Glass! This is just so unique. I pronounce it like “kale”, not sure if anyone says it differently. But I like uniquely spelled names, too. Still can’t remember much about the characters in the series, but I didn’t develop any issues with him, yet, and ship him with Dorian!


Like I said, my list is small… So here are a few more that I didn’t have in the list, but managed to scrounge up to make 10. Doesn’t mean I don’t like them – just means I like them less or completely forgot about them. (And will probably be adding them to the list now that I’ve remembered them!)


8. Alaizabel

I forgot about this name until it came to me as I was writing this post. I discovered this in high school when I read The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray by Chris Wooding. It’s just so unique and beautiful – I loved it back then (and I think I still do). (I believe the first part ‘Alaiza’ is pronounced like ‘Eliza’, but then add ‘bel’ at the end.)

9. Darrow

I only recently read this series and this name is made stronger when you’ve read the series and know this character. Darrow is amazing and grows so much throughout the story. If you’ve never read Red Rising by Pierce Brown, you’re missing out. It just has a cool ring to it.

10. Creed

This is another simple one that I just like the sound of. I got it from Bear, Otter, and The Kid by Tj Klune. No, Assassin’s Creed has nothing to do with it. I never thought about Creed as a name until that book, so. Creed is not a main character of these books, but he is an awesome friend for everyone involved.

=====

There we go! FIN.

But just for the hell of it, here are some of my other much loved names in my list NOT retrieved from characters (that I’ve encountered):

Aleris, Cerys, Persephone (OK, that was from multiple characters, so I just left it out), Aralyn (where I got my alias from), Linaeve, Benix, Reyn, Skye, and Kieran.

I’ll accumulate more, I’m sure.

Ta-ta for now, worms!

7 thoughts on “TTT // Top 10 Character Names I’d Give Whatever I Could Name (from books)”

Leave a Reply

